How I built my Crypto Watch

Inspired by the Billions Showtime series, here are the features of my crypto watch built with React.js and powered by Google Firebase.

How I built my Crypto Watch

Photo by Sajad Nori on Unsplash

The only thing certain in the cryptocurrency market is it will always make headlines. Since the first cryptocurrency became mainstream in 2009, its value has increased by tens of thousands of dollars—sometimes rising or falling thousands of dollars within days. The high volatility in the market gave rise to crypto watches.

A crypto watch is software used to monitor cryptocurrencies(coins) you own. It could be anything from the price to breaking news to expert forecasts.

I enjoy the memes of the crypto winter, and while I do not own any coin, four coins have piqued my interest. I built my custom crypto watch, Axe Capital(Axe Cap) to monitor the coins on my watchlist. This article walks you through the features of the crypto watch web application and how it works.

Live Crypto Prices

This is the first of four features. Crypto prices are the conventional metric traders and analysts use in determining the value of a coin and their next action. Axe Cap uses the CoinGecko data market API](coingecko.com/en/api) to display the live prices of my watchlist.

Annotation 2022-05-18 023358.png

The "expand" button on a coin directs me to the real-time CNBC quote.

Application Programming Interface(API) delivers a response to a system and sends a response back to a user. To dumb down, an API is a warehouse of data. The warehouse provider grants you a passcode to store your data and access some of theirs.

Crypto News

Fundamental analysis and technical analysis are the major schools of thought when it comes to approaching the markets. According to Investpedia](investopedia.com/terms/t/technicalanalysis...), Technical analysis evaluates investments and identifies trading opportunities in price trends and patterns seen on charts while fundamental analysis](investopedia.com/terms/f/fundamentalanalysi..) assesses the intrinsic value of a stock. It combines financial statements, external influences, tweets, events, and industry trends.

Annotation 2022-05-18 030543.png

While the first feature of Axe Cap handles all the technical analysis for my watchlist, this feature brings the balance by keeping me up-to-date with the current state of the coins.

I intended to get news from the big news companies. They either didn't provide API for developers, or it was too expensive. The news feature collects the current top headline articles based on the Google News ranking. It was built using the GNews API.

Live Tweets

More on fundamental analysis, the live tweet feature displays tweets directly from Blockworks 's timeline. Blockworks is a leading provider of news and insights about crypto for investors.

Report Bug

Annotation 2022-05-18 033327.png The form is powered by Material UI and firebase.



Yes, I just built a crypto watch. Kindly rate the project and leave feedback.

Links to the project and Github:

Axe Cap Crypto Watch

Github repo